Slow-Carb Diet

When attempting to change how I eat I need a battle plan. How will I be eating? How much? Do I need to count calories?However, I am not smart enough to come up with a plan myself. I am more than willing to admit that the science of weight-loss and health is not a language I speak well. I dove into Paleo before and had a lot of success with it, losing about 20 lbs. However, going full-hog I eventually burned out and reverted back to my old eating habits and gained about 30 lbs. How to combat the yo-yo? The way of eating that Tim Ferriss recommends in The 4-Hour Body is the Slow-Carb Diet. There are a lot of Ferriss haters on the internet. The most common complaint I have read about him is “he is probably the most narcissistic person…”. Well, he definitely is, but the Slow-Carb diet makes sense to me. Here are the rules:

  1. Don’t Eat “White” Carbs: bread, rice, breaded fried food, etc.
  2. Eat the Same Few Foods Over and Over Again: by using a list basic food there are many combinations I could have, while sticking to the basics.
  3. Don’t Drink Calories: only water, coffee, and tea with no sweeteners
  4. Don’t Eat Fruit: ’cause fructose and other ose’s
  5. Take One Day Off Per Week: go crazy

Now, Ferriss tries to science his way into explaining how a cheat day is crucial for weight-loss and he may or may not be right, but it got me thinking. Having a cheat day after 6 days of healthy eating could definitely have an impact on my desire for those foods I normally crave when I swear them off cold turkey. I will be sharing how my Slow-Carb adventure is going. but for now definitely check out my food journal. You can find it next to the Archives (click on the folder at the top-left part of the page), or head over to my Flickr. “The road goes forever on, and there are many paths to tread.” I am taking a path of my choosing. Thank you for continuing on this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

